Community Support & Outpatient Therapy · Living with anorexia · Treatment

The watched phone never rings

Deep breaths.  Stay calm.  

Dialling tone.

“Hello, Eating Disorders Service.  How can I help?”

Deep breaths.  Stay calm.

“Would it be possible to speak to Dr. Nolan please?”

More deep breaths.  Still staying calm.

“He’s in clinic at the moment, I can get him to call you back.”

“Ok, thank you.”

The waiting begins.

Deep breaths.  Stay calm.

What have I done?  What am I going to say?

Watch the phone.  Pace the room.

Ring, phone, damn it!  Why won’t you ring?!

I’m dreading it, but please, let’s just get it over with.

I need to speak to my psychiatrist.

I can’t do this on my own.  I need help.

Something has to change.

 

11 thoughts on “The watched phone never rings

Leave a Reply

