Day Patient · Recipes

We’ll start with (Quorn) Chicken Risotto

unnamedFor a long, long time I have eaten pretty much the same thing every day.  This is my first attempt at cooking something different.

I have no idea when I last cooked rice.  Or used cheese in a meal.  They are just two things in a long list of foods that I have been avoiding.  But today I am going to be brave.  I am going to cook a risotto.  And I am going to eat it.

Today for lunch I had a sandwich.  With two slices of bread.  And a filling that wasn’t salad.  I don’t remember the last time I made a sandwich like that.  In the eating disorder unit that is what we ate every day.  But it’s so much more difficult at home.  But I did it.  And now it is time for the next challenge of the day…

We cooked this recipe in the eating disorder unit.  Nothing terrible happened.  But it is still a huge leap for me to cook and eat it at home.

So here goes:


Quorn Chicken Risotto 

(makes one portion)

  • 5g margarine
  • 1/4 onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 garlic clove
  • 50g risotto rice
  • 25ml semi-skimmed milk
  • 400ml vegetable stock
  • 20g frozen peas
  • 20g sweetcorn
  • 150g quorn chicken
  • 25g grated cheese

Melt the margarine in a large pan.  Add in onion and garlic and cook until soft.  Add the quorn chicken and when it is partially cooked stir in the rice, peas and sweetcorn.  Add the stock a ladle at a time until the rice is cooked (creamy, but firm to the bite).  Add the milk and sprinkle in the cheese.


Done!  I cooked and ate a proper meal for the first time in months.

I won’t lie, it didn’t go perfectly.

The last thing on the recipe is to sprinkle in the cheese.  I had carefully weighed it, but actually taking a pinch and sprinkling it in was difficult.  And it got more and more challenging each time.  I didn’t quite manage to put all of it in.  It took me a long time to eat it, and I used a teaspoon – something I am not supposed to do.  They are little safety behavious.  It was tough to eat.  But you know what, I did ok.  And for today, that is all I can ask for.

 

2 thoughts on “We’ll start with (Quorn) Chicken Risotto

Leave a Reply

